Skip to content
dialegein

SwiftScan

Phone scanner for documents and QR codes, with OCR, signing and fax.

Jobs OCR View Edit Merge Protect Sign

Since 2014

Operated by Maple Media LLC

Visit SwiftScan

Opens the vendor's own site.

Jobs covered

Open a task to see exactly what the vendor documentation supports.

OCR Browse all ocr tools

running OCR with SwiftScan, where the SwiftScan Plus OCR support article says OCR operations are conducted exclusively locally on the device with no data transmitted to external servers, and that SwiftScan supports more than 60 languages, with the Android language article listing the supported languages and explaining that Android automatically uses the phone's default language rather than offering a language picker; the feature requires SwiftScan Plus on iOS or SwiftScan VIP on Android, and text recognition makes scans searchable and copyable.

The scope records the on-device OCR, the 60+ language claim and the Android automatic-language behaviour, notes the Plus/VIP entitlement and makes no accuracy guarantee or claim about languages outside the vendor's list

View Browse all view tools

viewing scans and documents with SwiftScan, where the product page and features page document an iPhone, iPad and Android scanner and mobile PDF/document workspace for opening saved scans, reviewing them, reading them, searching recognised text, organising documents in folders and viewing PDFs or JPEG scans; the scope records the mobile viewer and document-organisation functions on iOS and Android and does not claim a native macOS or web application, because the only native apps are the iOS and Android apps and the Mac or Windows access is through iCloud or cloud sync

Edit Browse all edit tools

editing scans with SwiftScan, where the advanced-editing and edit-scan support articles document Draw for handwritten marks and annotations, Redaction for hiding areas, Text for adding text, Notes, Signature, Color Filters, Rotate, Add Pages and other scan-review tools, and the features page documents highlight and pen drawing; the scope records the annotation, drawing, text-addition, notes, signature, colour, rotation and page operations on saved scans and documents, makes no existing-body-text rewrite claim, and leaves the redaction permanence question to the redaction field rather than treating the vendor's hide wording as deletion

Merge Browse all merge tools

merging documents with SwiftScan, where the Merge Documents support article documents selecting multiple documents, choosing Merge, dragging them into the desired order, choosing whether to keep the originals and saving the merged document, and the features page documents multi-page documents and adding, removing and rearranging pages; the scope records the documented app-document merge and page reordering and makes no claim about preserving signatures, forms, links or annotations across a merge or about merging arbitrary external PDFs beyond what the app documents

Protect Browse all protect tools

protecting documents with SwiftScan, where the features page documents Passcode and TouchID locking of the app and says the user can protect PDF scans too, and the Plus feature list describes password protection; the scope records the app passcode/biometric lock and the advertised PDF-scan protection, notes that the vendor publishes no encryption algorithm or reader-enforcement detail, and makes no claim that the PDF protection is unbreakable or that it enforces permissions in third-party readers

Sign Browse all sign tools

signing documents with SwiftScan, where the Plus features and Premium features pages describe an electronic signature feature for adding a signature to documents directly from the phone or tablet, and the advanced-editing article lists Signature among the editing tools; the scope records the visual electronic signature insertion into scans and documents, and because the vendor describes an electronic signature rather than certificate-based digital signing, it makes no certificate-authority, cryptographic-validation, timestamping or legal-validity guarantee

Where your files are processed

Reported to stay on your device

Claimed by the vendor. Not yet independently verified.

Stated by the vendor: no data in your documents is sent to them or a third party, and text recognition is done directly on the device. The App Store description repeats that all document-related activity happens on the device or with the cloud backup provider you choose.

Caveat: the same listing advertises AI tools that summarise and translate documents, which are not described as on-device.

What it does

SwiftScan is a phone-first scanner for iOS (iPhone and iPad) and Android for documents, receipts, business cards, whiteboards and QR or barcodes, with automatic capture, perspective correction, colour filters and PDF or JPEG output. It extracts text with an on-device OCR engine supporting 60+ languages for searching and copying, and lets you draw, highlight, add text and notes, insert an electronic signature, redact, password-protect, reorder pages, merge documents and send faxes.

Documents can auto-upload to iCloud, Google Drive and other cloud services, and the premium AI summarise and translate tools require Apple Intelligence. The current iOS App Store version is 9.6.82.

SwiftScan Plus on iOS or SwiftScan VIP on Android is the paid tier, with a free download, a free trial and a limited free tier.

Best for

People who want a fast everyday phone scanner that also handles OCR, light editing, signing and fax without leaving the app.

Worth knowing

The recorded price is the cheapest current paid plan found, SwiftScan VIP Monthly at GBP 5.99 in the UK App Store and USD 5.99 in the US store, but there are several separate Plus, Pro and VIP monthly or annual plans plus one-off purchases and fax credits, so GBP 5.99 is not a general from-price for every tier and other plans cost more. The app is free to download with a limited free tier, subscriptions include a 7-day free trial in the vendor's support description, and the Plus/VIP plan removes watermarks and unlocks features such as OCR, merge and unlimited scans; the vendor's own plan descriptions do not map every feature to every tier.

OCR runs on-device with 60+ supported languages, but the vendor publishes no accuracy figure, Android chooses the OCR language from the phone language rather than a picker, and the feature is gated behind Plus on iOS or VIP on Android for new users. Redaction is a restyleable fill box that the vendor describes only as hiding content, so it is recorded as covers-content rather than permanent removal and cannot be relied on as secure redaction.

The new AI summarise and translate tools require Apple Intelligence, a supported device on iPadOS or iOS 26 or later, and a Plus subscription; the vendor does not state whether those AI features process on-device or use a server, so no local-processing claim is made for them, and the site's blanket statement that document data is never sent to a third party is not extended to the AI tools in this record. Faxing sends the document to a fax service and costs credits.

Cloud auto-upload is optional and the user chooses the service. The iOS and Android apps are the only native surfaces: documents reach a desktop through iCloud or cloud sync, not through a native desktop app.

Passcode/TouchID locks the app and the vendor also advertises protecting PDF scans, but no encryption algorithm or reader-enforcement detail is published. Signing is an electronic signature image, not a certificate-based digital signature, and no signature validation or certificate-authority claim is made.

Details, and where each comes from

Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.

Versions covered
iOS · Android
Website
swiftscan.app
Requires an account
Not verified
Free tier
Yes
Watermark on the free tier
Not verified
Maximum file size
Not verified
Batch processing
Yes
Data residency
United States
Open source
No
Self-hostable
No
Licence
Proprietary.

Proprietary. Maple Media LLC, 9570 West Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035 USA, is the entity responsible for processing named in the Maple Media privacy policy, and the Apple App Store lists the seller as Maple Media Apps, LLC, a related Maple Media entity used for store distribution.

Maple Media's Terms of Service have an effective date of October 2023 and cover both Apple App Store and Google Play purchases. The app is free to download with in-app purchases: the UK App Store lists SwiftScan VIP Monthly at GBP 5.99, plus annual VIP and multiple Plus and Pro plans, annual Plus, one-off Pro purchases and fax credits; the US store lists SwiftScan VIP Monthly at USD 5.99.

Subscriptions include a free trial, and the support centre describes a 7-day trial. No open-source licence or source distribution is published.

Redaction
Not determined
Programmatic access
None
Last availability check
Responded in 350 ms 21 October 2026

Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.

Why we have not determined this

What that does not establish

Downgraded from covers_content on 2026-09-22. The vendor’s help says "Redaction: Hide sensitive information by dragging over the area you want to redact", and offers to "change the redaction style".

Neither distinguishes covering from removing: "hide" is the same word two other verdicts in this index were downgraded for, and a style or colour option is neutral - Adobe removes content and still lets you colour its marks. We have not tested this tool and its documentation does not say, so it is not a verdict we can stand behind in either direction.

What the vendor says

Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded - not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.

  • “No data in your documents will ever be sent to us or a 3rd party. Everything including the text recognition will be done directly on the device. We value privacy!”

    Checked by us - the source says this Read 22 September 2026

    Confirmed verbatim: "No data in your documents will ever be sent to us or a 3rd party. Everything including the text recognition will be done directly on the device.

    We value privacy!" It is the strongest privacy statement recorded anywhere in this tier - an unconditional "ever" rather than a retention window or a residency region - and it is also the one this index is least equipped to check, because SwiftScan is an iOS and Android application with no browser surface for our locality instrument to drive. That limit should be stated rather than glossed: the claim is recorded as the vendor's wording and not as an observation, and no instrument we have could make it one.

    One internal consistency worth noting, since this index records both: SwiftScan's features page, verified earlier in this campaign, describes redaction as a way to "hide" confidential data rather than remove it. The two statements are about different things - where text recognition happens, and what a redaction mark does - and both are the vendor's own.

    Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    7e8b1efc347f9b34568f84c6b30f565d82a2be8772f0bc1dffcdc411dfa260a6

    How we checked

    Re-verified verbatim on 2026-09-22: https://swiftscan.app/ re-rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs and the claim's wording found in the rendered text. Originally verified on 2026-09-21. sourceHash is the SHA-256 of the re-rendered text, held as rv-swiftscan-app-21038292.txt.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

  • “Add text to your document or safely redact existing text to hide confidential data”

    Checked by us - the source says this Read 22 September 2026

    Confirmed verbatim. Under a feature heading "Add or Redact Text" the page says: "Add text to your document or safely redact existing text to hide confidential data" - the claim unaltered.

    The important word is the vendor's own, and it is HIDE. They do not claim removal anywhere on the page, which is consistent with this index classifying the tool as covers_content, and it means a reader is not being misled by them.

    Two limits: SwiftScan is an iOS and Android application with no browser surface, so nothing here can be tested on our instrument, and the feature sits in a list alongside draw, highlight and annotate, which is the company it keeps - markup on a scan rather than a document-sanitising tool. Recorded as confirmed that the page says what we recorded, not as a test of the behaviour.

    Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the raw HTTP response
    SHA-256
    63277dfdc52912116fcac8b306bdb2ac47ece5f65b150e35f93a2775b8188c9d

    How we checked

    Re-verified verbatim on 2026-09-22: https://swiftscan.app/features.html re-rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs and the claim's wording found in the rendered text. Originally verified on 2026-09-21. sourceHash is the SHA-256 of the re-rendered text, held as rv-swiftscan-app-features-html-15f0206b.txt.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked - it is not a judgement about anyone.

Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.

Visit SwiftScan Report a problem

How this record was put together

Editorial review.
No editor has signed this record off. That is not the same as nothing having been checked, and the lines below say what has.
Source reading.
2 claims taken from the vendor's own pages, read between 22 September 2026 and 22 September 2026.
Website availability.
The vendor's site was last checked on 21 October 2026.
Behaviour testing.
We have not run this tool ourselves, so everything here rests on the vendors’ own pages.

Sources: swiftscan.app (home, features); the vendor's help centre; the Apple App Store listing and lookup record; Maple Media's corporate privacy policy.