Skip to content
dialegein

Solid Framework

PDF-to-Office conversion SDK that is no longer sold separately: its technology moved into the Apryse SDK.

Operated by Apryse

Discontinued

No longer sold as a standalone product. Solid Documents joined Apryse in August 2021 and the technology was folded into the Apryse SDK; the vendor's own words on the page that remains are: "In August 2021, Solid Documents joined the Apryse family. Since then, Apryse has incorporated the Solid Documents technology into our core platform. As such, the Solid Documents website has gone away, although our commitment to you has not." Existing customers are still supported and the legacy SDK portal and documentation remain linked. Read 2026-09-22; the page does not state when support for existing licences ends, and the wind-down terms were not read.

Its successor in this directory: Apryse (Apryse).

Where your files are processed

No server involved

A discontinued embedded SDK and a set of installed desktop applications. The conversion ran in the customer's own environment, and the page that remains describes a legacy download portal rather than a hosted service. Where the successor capability inside the Apryse SDK processes documents is a question for that record, not this one. That is a property of the library itself: what an application built with it does with your file depends on that application, not on this.

Recorded as true on the documented shape of the product rather than on a current deployment statement. Solid Framework was an SDK consumed by the customer's own application, and the desktop products in the range were installed applications, so the conversion happened on the customer's machine or server. The tombstone page describes a software product and a legacy download portal and describes no hosted service. What it does not establish: where the successor capability in the Apryse SDK processes documents, which is the successor's record to answer and not this one's.

What it does

Solid Framework was the developer SDK behind Solid Documents' PDF conversion range, whose defining capability was reconstructing PDFs as editable Microsoft Office documents — Word, Excel and PowerPoint — while retaining the layout of the original. Around it sat a set of end-user desktop applications: Solid Converter, Solid PDF Tools, Solid PDF to Word and Solid Automator for batch work, plus PDF/A archiving. Solid Documents joined Apryse in August 2021 and the technology was folded into the Apryse SDK; the vendor states plainly that the Solid Documents website has gone away. This record exists so that a reader searching for Solid Framework, or for one of those product names, finds out what happened to it instead of finding nothing.

Best for: Existing customers looking for the SDK portal or the legacy documentation, and anyone who has found Solid Framework named in an older comparison and wants to know where the capability went. A new integration should evaluate the successor, the Apryse SDK, rather than this.

Worth knowing: This is not a product you can buy. The page is a brand tombstone: it says the website has gone away, that Apryse has incorporated the technology into its core platform, and that Solid Framework is now available in the Apryse SDK. What remains is support for existing customers and links to legacy documentation and downloads, so the practical route for anyone new is the Apryse SDK rather than anything on this page. PDF-to-Office reconstruction is also the kind of conversion where quality varies a great deal by document, which the index cannot speak to for a product it has not tested and which no vendor page settles. And because the standalone product is gone, the details that normally matter — pricing, licensing terms, whether the legacy desktop applications are still maintained — are not established here, and the existing-customer wind-down terms were not read. A point of accuracy about the status: the vendor page supports incorporating the technology into the Apryse SDK and gives existing customers their support and download routes, but it does not state a formal discontinuation date or that the product cannot be bought at any price, so those sales conclusions are qualified here rather than asserted. What is documented is the acquisition in August 2021 and the redirection to the successor.

Details, and where each comes from

Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.

Versions covered
Self-hosted
Website
soliddocuments.com
Requires an account
Not applicable
Free tier
Not verified
Watermark on the free tier
Not verified
Maximum file size
Not verified
Batch processing
Yes
Data residency
Not verified
Open source
No
Self-hostable
Yes
Licence
Commercial, and no longer sold as a standalone product; licensing terms for the legacy SDK were not read and are not asserted
Redaction
Not determined
Programmatic access
Embeddable library
Last availability check
Responded in 935 ms 16 October 2026

Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.

Why we have not determined this

What that does not establish: Left undetermined rather than recorded as `none`, which is the difference between this record and most in the index. The page read is a brand tombstone: it describes the product range as "PDF document conversion and PDF/A archiving solutions" and lists four legacy desktop applications, and it says nothing about content removal — but it also describes almost no functionality at all, because it is not a product page any more. `none` would assert that no redaction feature exists, and a page this thin cannot support that. The legacy documentation and the SDK downloads are still linked from the page and were not read; that is where the answer is. The successor's verdict, if any, belongs on the Apryse record, which has its own evidence.

https://www.soliddocuments.com/

What the vendor says

Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded — not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.

  • “Solid Framework is now available in the Apryse SDK. Learn more on our industry-leading technology to convert PDFs into MS Office formats.”

    Checked by us — the source says this Read 22 September 2026

    Confirmed verbatim, and it is the most useful sentence on the page: it names the successor product so a reader can act on it. It was cross-checked against the Apryse brand page for the same product line, which served identical visible text — worth recording because it means the two URLs a reader might try, the old vendor domain and the new brand page, give the same answer rather than one being a stale mirror. It also confirms the successor's headline capability is the same one Solid Framework had: conversion of PDFs into Microsoft Office formats.

    Standing: Re-read, and the recorded hash was not reproduced

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    9976e7e42b1d63cf2e7fce65d61979b405e846d639ae9738a3bd1c9b9cb54d5b
    Note
    neither the raw response nor a render reproduced the recorded hash (338637 chars, recorded 9976e7e42b…)

    How we checked: Re-verified verbatim on 2026-09-22: https://www.soliddocuments.com/ re-rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs and the claim's wording found in the rendered text. Originally verified on 2026-09-22. sourceHash is the SHA-256 of the re-rendered text, held as rv-www-soliddocuments-com-d063be5d.txt.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

  • “In August 2021, Solid Documents joined the Apryse family. Since then, Apryse has incorporated the Solid Documents technology into our core platform. As such, the Solid Documents website has gone away, although our commitment to you has not.”

    Checked by us — the source says this Read 22 September 2026

    Confirmed verbatim. This is the sentence the record is built on, because it is unusually direct for a vendor page: most acquisitions leave the acquired brand's site up and vague, and this one states that the site has gone away and why. The date the technology moved is given as August 2021, but the page does not say when the standalone SDK stopped being sold, and the record does not infer one. The word "gone away" refers to the website, not to the products — the same page goes on to link legacy downloads, tutorials and an SDK portal, which is why `discontinued` is recorded with a note about continuing support rather than as a bare flag.

    Standing: Re-read, and the recorded hash was not reproduced

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    9976e7e42b1d63cf2e7fce65d61979b405e846d639ae9738a3bd1c9b9cb54d5b
    Note
    neither the raw response nor a render reproduced the recorded hash (338637 chars, recorded 9976e7e42b…)

    How we checked: Re-verified verbatim on 2026-09-22: https://www.soliddocuments.com/ re-rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs and the claim's wording found in the rendered text. Originally verified on 2026-09-22. sourceHash is the SHA-256 of the re-rendered text, held as rv-www-soliddocuments-com-d063be5d.txt.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked — it is not a judgement about anyone.

Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.

Visit Solid Framework Report a problem

Related reading

How this record was put together

Editorial review.
No editor has signed this record off. That is not the same as nothing having been checked, and the lines below say what has.
Source reading.
2 claims taken from the vendor's own pages, read between 22 September 2026 and 22 September 2026.
Website availability.
The vendor's site was last checked on 16 October 2026.
Behaviour testing.
We ran this ourselves. The file handling was watched directly.

Sources: soliddocuments.com, read 2026-09-22 with headless Chrome (visible text 3493 bytes), cross-checked against apryse.com/brands/soliddocuments rendered the same day (also 3493 bytes of visible text). Vendor documentation, not independently tested; no SDK was downloaded, no legacy product was installed and no document was converted.