Skip to content
dialegein

Qoppa Java PDF SDK

Java PDF library suite that is no longer sold: its functionality moved to Apryse Java PDF.

Operated by Apryse

Discontinued

Qoppa has stopped selling new licences for its Java PDF libraries and moved their functionality to the Apryse Java PDF product. The vendor's own notice on the product page reads: "We are no longer selling new licenses for these products. We've moved their functionalities and more to the Apryse Java PDF." Recorded on 2026-09-22; the date of the change is not stated on the page. Existing licences are a separate question this record cannot answer — the wind-down terms were not read.

Its successor in this directory: Apryse (Apryse).

Where your files are processed

No server involved

Java libraries embedded in your own application and running on your own JVM. Qoppa operates no processing service. The suite is unsold rather than switched off, so an existing deployment is unaffected. That is a property of the library itself: what an application built with it does with your file depends on that application, not on this.

Java libraries embedded in your own application, running on your own JVM. Qoppa operates no processing service in that path. The suite is unsold rather than withdrawn from service, so an existing deployment is unaffected by the change.

What it does

A suite of Java libraries that between them covered most of what a Java application might need to do with a PDF: assemble and split, read and write form fields, convert to and from images, optimise, preflight against PDF/A and PDF/X, print, sign and encrypt, extract text, convert to SVG and HTML5, and generate PDFs. There were also three Swing components for embedding a viewer, an annotator and an editor. It is recorded here because it is still widely referenced and still installable, and because the vendor has stopped selling it: new licences are no longer issued and the functionality has moved to Apryse's Java PDF product.

Best for: Nothing, for a new project — the vendor has withdrawn it and points buyers at Apryse instead. The record exists so that a reader who finds Qoppa's Java libraries in a search result, in a vendor comparison or in an old dependency learns three things in one page: that it existed, what it did, and that it is no longer sold.

Worth knowing: No new licences are sold, so it cannot be bought for a new project, and the vendor’s own advice is to use Apryse’s Java PDF library instead. That is a sales fact rather than a support fact, and the two are separate questions. Whether patches, security fixes and compatibility updates continue for existing licensees is not established by the notice we read: existing licence rights, the support window and technical compatibility are three different things, and an existing deployment is not automatically unaffected by the change either. What can be said is narrower than either: the suite is unsold, and code already built on it may run for years. The free jPDFWriter library is a separate exception within the family and is still offered, so a family-wide free-tier badge would be wrong: the commercial libraries are closed and that one is not.

Details, and where each comes from

Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.

Versions covered
Self-hosted
Website
qoppa.com
Requires an account
Not applicable
Free tier
Yes
Watermark on the free tier
Not verified
Maximum file size
Not verified
Batch processing
Yes
Data residency
Self-hosted
Open source
No
Self-hostable
Yes
Licence
Commercial per-library licences, no longer sold to new customers; jPDFWriter is a free library
Redaction
Not determined
Programmatic access
Embeddable library
Last availability check
Responded in 778 ms 16 October 2026

Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.

Why we have not determined this

“jPDFEditor — Additionally redact and edit content in PDF documents”

What that does not establish: Recorded as `unverified` for the same reason as two other records in this batch: redaction appears as a word in a component list, naming one of the three Swing viewers, and no page read says whether content is removed from the page or covered. The site also lists "Redact PDF Documents" among its solutions, which confirms the feature exists somewhere in the line without establishing the mechanism. THE VERDICT MATTERS LESS THAN USUAL HERE because the product cannot be bought: anybody reading this record is either maintaining an existing licence or looking for a replacement, and the replacement is Apryse's Java library, whose own redaction basis is a separate question. What would settle it: the jPDFEditor documentation, or a canary test on an existing installation.

https://www.qoppa.com/pdfsolutions/java-pdf-sdk/

What the vendor says

Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded — not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.

  • “We are no longer selling new licenses for these products. We've moved their functionalities and more to the Apryse Java PDF. Check it out here!”

    Checked by us — the source says this Read 1 October 2026

    Confirmed. The quoted text appears in the rendered page as read on 2026-10-01. This claim was carried as reported rather than checked until this read.

    Standing: Not re-read against the live source

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    147195b8d8fc548b31272320275b82a58c5006a6f99d22f6300bb6704940618d

    How we checked: Read as rendered text in headless Chrome on 2026-10-01 and saved to the evidence archive, so the read can be repeated against the same file. Comparison ignores case, punctuation and hyphenation, which is why "open-source" on the record matches "open source" on the page.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

  • “Qoppa Software has developed an extensive suite of PDF libraries and components in Java that cover every aspect of PDF processes, allowing you to PDF-enable your Java applications and web servers.”

    Checked by us — the source says this Read 1 October 2026

    Confirmed. The quoted text appears in the rendered page as read on 2026-10-01. This claim was carried as reported rather than checked until this read.

    Standing: Not re-read against the live source

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    147195b8d8fc548b31272320275b82a58c5006a6f99d22f6300bb6704940618d

    How we checked: Read as rendered text in headless Chrome on 2026-10-01 and saved to the evidence archive, so the read can be repeated against the same file. Comparison ignores case, punctuation and hyphenation, which is why "open-source" on the record matches "open source" on the page.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked — it is not a judgement about anyone.

Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.

Visit Qoppa Java PDF SDK Report a problem

Related reading

How this record was put together

Editorial review.
No editor has signed this record off. That is not the same as nothing having been checked, and the lines below say what has.
Source reading.
2 claims taken from the vendor's own pages, read between 1 October 2026 and 1 October 2026.
Website availability.
The vendor's site was last checked on 16 October 2026.
Behaviour testing.
We ran this ourselves. The file handling was watched directly.

Sources: qoppa.com: the Java PDF SDK page, read 2026-09-22 with headless Chrome, including the vendor's discontinuation notice at the top of the page. Vendor documentation, not independently tested; no library was obtained.