PREP
Continual Engine's cloud remediation platform for accessible PDFs and documents, with AI tagging, OCR and REST APIs.
Jobs Accessibility OCR Convert
Operated by Continual Engine US, LLC
Opens the vendor's own site.
Jobs covered
Open a task to see exactly what the vendor documentation supports.
Accessibility
Browse all accessibility toolsremediating and checking document accessibility with PREP, where the product page and About PREP document AI auto-tagging for headings, lists, tables, table of contents, forms, math and alt text, reading-order work, collapsible one-to-two-click tagging, a built-in accessibility checker and report generation against WCAG 2.2, PDF/UA, Section 508 and ADA, collaboration and document assignment, department-level tracking and admin controls, and Canvas/D2L LMS integrations.
The scope records the documented remediation/tagging, accessibility checking/reporting and collaboration workflow, and makes no generic PDF body-text editing, redaction, signing, universal 100% compliance, ADA/WCAG legal guarantee or independent accuracy claim; the vendor's percentage and compliance statements are recorded as unverified marketing claims
OCR
Browse all ocr toolsrunning OCR inside PREP's remediation workflow, where the product page documents a built-in OCR mode for scanned documents with poor quality or complex structures and the FAQ says PREP helps users perform OCR, fix OCR errors and then tag the file. The scope records the documented scanned-document OCR, correction and subsequent tagging workflow, makes no independent OCR accuracy, language-coverage, exact-recognition or universal scanned-document guarantee, and does not treat OCR as a general OCR product separate from remediation
Convert
Browse all convert toolsconverting and exporting remediated documents with PREP, where the product page documents digitization of scanned documents and conversion of PDFs to text, Word, HTML and ePub formats, the site markets easy inter-format conversions, and the PREP Smart HTML product converts PDFs into accessible HTML. The scope records the documented PDF-to-text/Word/HTML/ePub conversion and export paths in the remediation workflow, and makes no generic Office/PDF conversion, arbitrary file conversion, rendering, fidelity, PDF/A or universal format-support guarantee
Where your files are processed
Reported to upload your files
The vendor states that files are uploaded to their servers. We have not independently tested this.
It is a hosted platform, and the documented workflows include a browser workspace and HTTP APIs for its Auto Tag and Checker services. The browser workspace is an interface rather than a browser JavaScript SDK, and the programmatic label belongs to those documented APIs rather than to the workspace.
Offices and cloud-provider names do not establish a processing region or a retention period, so both stay unknown.
What it does
PREP is Continual Engine US, LLC's hosted document-accessibility remediation platform. Documents are uploaded to a browser-based workspace, an AI pass proposes tags and structure, a person reviews and corrects the result, the platform checks against a chosen standard and generates a report, and the remediated file is exported.
The current product page documents AI auto-tagging for headings, lists, tables, table of contents, forms, math and alt text; reading-order work; built-in OCR for scanned or poor-quality documents; collaboration and assignment; accessibility checking and reporting; PDF-to-text, Word, HTML and ePub conversion; and Canvas/D2L LMS integrations. The PREP Auto Tag API and Accessibility Checker API expose REST endpoints for bulk tagging and accessibility validation, with API keys and asynchronous processing.
The product is marketed as cloud-based and browser-accessible with no installation and automatic upgrades; a bank case study documents a customer-specific on-premises deployment, so on-premises may be available as an enterprise arrangement but is not described as a standard public edition. TX-RAMP Level 2 certification covers the PREP cloud service and Invicta, granted 12 December 2025 and expiring 11 December 2028 under certificate TX1742040; that certification is not extended here beyond its stated scope.
Pricing is quote-only, with no public rate. The vendor's 100% compliance and percentage claims are marketing statements, not independently verified guarantees.
Best for
Accessibility teams facing a backlog rather than a one-off document. The collaboration and assignment features, the built-in OCR for scanned material and the per-document compliance report are all aimed at producing accessible documents at institutional scale, and the vendor's own customers describe replacing an outbound remediation service with it.
A reader who needs to fix one PDF will find the whole apparatus is aimed at somebody else.
Worth knowing
Pricing is quote-only: the product FAQ directs buyers to prep@continualengine.com, the Fulfillment Policy says payments are in USD or the purchase currency, and no public plan rate is published. The vendor's own Fulfillment Policy disclaims perfection and complete compliance with accessibility standards, places legal responsibility on the customer, and says it does not provide legal, financial or compliance advice; the product page's statement that remediation output is 100% compliant with ADA/508/EAA/WCAG 2.2 AA is recorded as a vendor marketing claim with an unverifiable verdict, not as a guarantee.
Preceding percentages such as 95% automation, 100% accuracy and more than 60% turnaround are likewise vendor numbers with no stated baseline or sample. The service is primarily cloud/browser: the current product page says no installation, automatic upgrades and a hosted workspace, and the privacy policy and Fulfillment Policy are dated 1 October 2025.
A bank case study documents an on-premises deployment for that customer, so on-premises cannot be ruled out, but no public self-hosted edition, deployment terms or data-residency commitment is published; selfHostable is therefore not asserted and data residency is unknown. No public DPA or security page was located.
The privacy policy is a general website policy and does not state document-retention periods or a data-residency commitment; treat uploaded documents and the vendor's processing locations as matters to confirm in contracting. The accessibility job is remediation/tagging and checking/reporting, not generic PDF body-text editing; the platform is not a general PDF editor, does not redact or sign, and does not provide universal ADA/WCAG/PDF/UA compliance or legal protection.
The OCR job is the built-in OCR mode for scanned pages with manual correction, not an independent OCR accuracy guarantee. The convert job covers the documented PDF-to-text/Word/HTML/ePub and inter-format conversion/export paths, not generic Office/PDF conversion, rendering or fidelity guarantees.
Canvas/D2L integrations and the REST APIs are documented, but API pricing, quotas and on-premises availability are not public. TX-RAMP Level 2 certification applies only to the scope and dates stated in certificate TX1742040 and is not a general security or compliance guarantee.
Details, and where each comes from
Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.
- Versions covered
- Web · API
- Website
- continualengine.com
- Requires an account
- Yes
- Free tier
- No
- Watermark on trial output
- Not verified
- Maximum file size
- Not verified
- Batch processing
- Yes
- Data residency
- Not verified
- Open source
- No
- Self-hostable
- Not verified
- Licence
-
Commercial, quote-based SaaS.
Commercial, quote-based SaaS. The provider is Continual Engine US, LLC (brand Continual Engine), 5900 Balcones Drive Suite 27899, Austin, Texas 78731, US, with an office in Bengaluru, India, as identified in the TX-RAMP certification and the site footer.
The Privacy Policy and Fulfillment Policy/Terms of Service are both dated 1 October 2025. The Fulfillment Policy states that payment is in USD or the currency specified at purchase, that no refunds are issued, and that the customer remains responsible for legal compliance; it expressly does not guarantee perfection or complete compliance with accessibility standards.
PREP is sold through a custom quote and demo route and no public price or plan rate is published. The PREP APIs are a separate subscription with a developer key.
No public DPA or security page was located; the privacy policy covers contact information and general data rights but does not state a retention period or a data-residency commitment.
- Redaction
- No redaction feature
- Programmatic access
- Browser JavaScript · HTTP API
- Last availability check
- Responded in 1386 ms 21 October 2026
Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.
What the redaction verdict rests on
From the vendor's own documentation, read 22 September 2026. Not tested by us.
What that does not establish
Recorded as `none` on absence for a tool that certainly edits documents, which is why it needs saying plainly. PREP's documented work is structural - auto-detect tags, review and modify "the page content structure", and correct flagged accessibility issues - and the feature list includes conversion of PDFs to Text, Word, HTML and ePub.
None of that is described as removing content, and a remediation platform is not a redaction tool. What it does not establish: that an editing interface of this kind cannot delete content, which is a capability question rather than a redaction-feature question, and one nobody should read this verdict as answering.
What the vendor says
Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded - not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.
-
“PREP's remediation output is 100% compliant with ADA/508/EAA regulations and WCAG 2.2 AA guidelines.”
Checked by us - could not be settled Read 16 October 2026
The current product page still states this sentence verbatim and follows it with the claim that it helps avoid lawsuits. The Fulfillment Policy dated 1 October 2025, however, says the company does not guarantee perfection or complete compliance with accessibility standards, does not provide legal, financial or compliance advice, and places legal responsibility on the customer.
The claim has no stated scope, standard edition or process, and other page statements describe automation around 95% with human review; it remains a vendor marketing claim, not a verified property of the output.
Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte
Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
- From
- the text a browser renders
- SHA-256
- cec906f956756ae95799160d365fd8030a2de318dde63c117916574eadc67193
How we checked
Re-read the current product page and Fulfillment Policy on 2026-10-16. The product-page sentence is still present verbatim; the Fulfillment Policy dated 1 October 2025 disclaims complete compliance and legal advice.
The existing evidence file and sourceHash are retained from the earlier render; the finding now records the policy conflict.
-
“Powered by sophisticated AI-based auto-tag detection, PREP's document remediation software accelerates the time-consuming and tedious process of tagging nested lists and table of contents (ToC), saving you more than 60% turnaround time.”
Checked by us - could not be settled Read 16 October 2026
Present verbatim: the vendor says auto-tagging nested lists and table of contents saves more than 60% turnaround time. No baseline, sample, process definition or measurement is published, and the same page separately says 95% automation and 100% accuracy.
Recorded as the vendor's number, not an independently verified result.
Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte
Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
- From
- the text a browser renders
- SHA-256
- cec906f956756ae95799160d365fd8030a2de318dde63c117916574eadc67193
How we checked
Same rendered page and hash as the claim above; the claim was checked against that text and the page was searched for a stated methodology behind the 60% figure.
-
“PREP's document remediation platform is cloud-based, allowing easy access at any time, from anywhere, simply by using a browser. It also means you do not need to install any software.”
Checked by us - the source says this Read 16 October 2026
Confirmed as the product page's current delivery statement: PREP is described as cloud-based, browser-accessible, requiring no installation, with automatic upgrades. It is not universal across all deployments: a separate bank case study documents an on-premises deployment for that customer, and no public self-hosted edition or deployment terms were found.
The record therefore keeps processesLocally false for the standard cloud service but does not assert selfHostable or a data-residency commitment.
Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte
Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
- From
- the text a browser renders
- SHA-256
- cec906f956756ae95799160d365fd8030a2de318dde63c117916574eadc67193
How we checked
Re-read the current product page on 2026-10-16 and reconciled it with the separate bank case study and TX-RAMP certificate. The product page still describes a cloud/browser workspace with no installation; the case study documents one customer-specific on-premises deployment.
Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked - it is not a judgement about anyone.
Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.
Related reading
- Checking a PDF for accessibility - what makes a PDF accessible, and how it is checked.