Skip to content
dialegein

pdfaPilot

PDF/A and PDF/UA conversion, validation and correction for archiving and accessibility.

Operated by callas software GmbH

Where your files are processed

Mixed — depends on version and feature

The vendor's own documentation separates them. On the device: pdfaPilot Desktop on Windows and macOS. On their servers: Server and CLI deployments run by the customer. A single answer for the whole product would be wrong for one of them. That is a property of the library itself: what an application built with it does with your file depends on that application, not on this.

It is customer-managed software: Desktop works on files on the machine, and a Server or CLI deployment runs on infrastructure the customer controls. That is not a tested guarantee that nothing is uploaded, and the inherited web-service scope sentence does not describe it. Server and CLI document installation on Windows, macOS and Linux, including systemd deployment guidance. Server operates with CLI rather than as a separate purchase, so the package entitlements need the current licence terms.

What it does

pdfaPilot turns documents into PDF/A for long-term archiving and checks or corrects them against PDF/UA for accessibility. It converts office files, emails and attachments into compliant PDFs, verifies existing files, and fixes the failures that software can detect. For accessibility it also converts a PDF to HTML so a person can review the structure and tagging, because part of the PDF/UA requirements cannot be checked by software at all. It ships as a desktop application, an Acrobat plug-in, a server product, a command line and an SDK.

Best for: Records management, libraries, government and anyone with a legal obligation to keep documents readable for decades, where the same tool has to satisfy an archiving standard and an accessibility standard. It is the closest thing here to a single purchase that covers both PDF/A and PDF/UA.

Worth knowing: It is honest about the limit of automated checking, and that limit is the important thing to understand before buying: the vendor states that part of PDF/UA can be verified by software and part needs human intervention, and pdfaPilot handles only the first part completely. So a passing report is not an accessible document, and the tool says so itself. It is also a paid product with no published price — Desktop, Server, CLI and SDK are separately licensed and sold through resellers — so the cost has to come from a quote, and the 14-day trial is the only free route. Like its sibling pdfToolbox, the Desktop edition depends on Adobe Acrobat Library technology, and the Server edition's supported operating systems are not stated on the page read. Automated PDF/UA checks and human semantic review stay distinct, and an automated pass does not establish complete accessibility. Prices that are not published are recorded as not established rather than as proof that no price exists, and the closest-thing-to-a-single-purchase phrasing is replaced with the concrete PDF/A and PDF/UA capabilities and their edition scope.

Details, and where each comes from

Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.

Versions covered
Windows · macOS · Self-hosted
Website
callassoftware.com
Requires an account
Not applicable
Free tier
No
Watermark on trial output
Not verified
Maximum file size
Not verified
Batch processing
Yes
Data residency
Self-hosted
Open source
No
Self-hostable
Yes
Licence
Commercial, sold through resellers; Desktop, Server, CLI and SDK licensed as separate variants; free 14-day trial
Redaction
No redaction feature
Programmatic access
Command line · Embeddable library
Last availability check
Responded in 446 ms 16 October 2026

Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.

What the redaction verdict rests on

From the vendor's own documentation, read 22 September 2026. Not tested by us.

What that does not establish: Recorded as `none` on absence: the product page describes archiving conversion, PDF/A validation, PDF/UA verification and correction in detail and never mentions redaction or removing content. What it does not establish: that a correction cannot alter or delete content. A conformance fix rewrites parts of a document, so this is "no redaction feature" rather than "incapable of removing anything". A reader who needs redaction should read it as "not the tool for that".

https://callassoftware.com/products/pdfapilot/

What the vendor says

Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded — not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.

  • “PDF/UA offers a unique challenge: part of the requirements can be verified by software, but the other part requires human intervention. pdfaPilot handles the first part of the verification process completely. For human verification, functionalities are integrated to view the document in a structured and highlighted web view.”

    Checked by us — the source says this Read 1 October 2026

    Confirmed. The quoted text appears in the rendered page as read on 2026-10-01. This claim was carried as reported rather than checked until this read.

    Standing: Not re-read against the live source

    Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
    From
    the text a browser renders
    SHA-256
    abb0c69c60dcd4282190cf2cb0ce51e3723acecdf9ce21ab64dc04f0727b307f

    How we checked: Read as rendered text in headless Chrome on 2026-10-01 and saved to the evidence archive, so the read can be repeated against the same file. Comparison ignores case, punctuation and hyphenation, which is why "open-source" on the record matches "open source" on the page.

    What this hash proves, and what it does not

Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked — it is not a judgement about anyone.

Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.

Visit pdfaPilot Report a problem

Related reading

How this record was put together

Editorial review.
No editor has signed this record off. That is not the same as nothing having been checked, and the lines below say what has.
Source reading.
1 claim taken from the vendor's own pages, read between 1 October 2026 and 1 October 2026.
Website availability.
The vendor's site was last checked on 16 October 2026.
Behaviour testing.
We ran this ourselves. The file handling was watched directly.

Sources: callassoftware.com: the products index and the pdfaPilot product page, read 2026-09-22 with headless Chrome. Vendor documentation, not independently tested; no document was converted or validated.