DocRaptor
Hosted HTML-to-PDF API built on the Prince engine, with CSS Paged Media and tagged accessible output.
Jobs Convert
Since 2010
Operated by Artifex Software
Opens the vendor's own site.
Jobs covered
Open a task to see exactly what the vendor documentation supports.
Convert
Browse all convert toolsWhere your files are processed
Files leave your device
We observed a file upload to api.docraptor.com.
The HTML or the URL to fetch is sent to https://api.docraptor.com/docs and rendered there; nothing is generated on your machine. DocRaptor's privacy policy states that when you send document data it retains a copy of your input and output documents 'only until you have downloaded the document and the time you specify for data retention has expired', and that it does 'NOT retain your original input or the generated document past the data retention period' unless you use its document debugging or document hosting services.
The shortest retention setting deletes the input as soon as it is consumed and the output as soon as it is downloaded, or after 15 minutes if it is not downloaded; the longest is a week. Documents are encrypted in transit and at rest on AWS.
What it does
DocRaptor is a commercial REST API that turns HTML and CSS into PDFs using the Prince XML engine rather than a browser, and can also emit XLS and XLSX from HTML or XML. Because Prince implements CSS Paged Media directly, it handles running headers and footers, page-level size and orientation changes, footnotes, crop marks, PDF bookmarks, CMYK output and tagged PDFs for accessibility, and it can produce fillable PDF forms from HTML form elements.
Official client libraries exist for most languages, and a free account can generate five documents a month plus unlimited watermarked test documents.
Best for
Developers generating long, heavily paginated documents - invoices, statements, reports, books - who need paged-media layout that a browser engine renders badly, and who are willing to send the source document to a third-party API.
Worth knowing
It is a hosted service with client libraries rather than an embedded engine: the official examples send source content or a URL to DocRaptor’s endpoint, and the renderer runs on their side, so an API client SDK is the accurate description and a local Prince installation is not what these examples do. Your HTML and its data leave your infrastructure and are processed on DocRaptor's AWS servers, with a data-retention window you configure, so this is not usable for content that cannot go to a vendor.
The entry price also buys only 125 documents a month; at volume the per-document rate is what matters, and it improves with the plan tier. Small plans are metered strictly rather than throttled - beyond 125 documents you pay per document, and test-mode output is watermarked.
The operational limits matter more than size here: a synchronous generation runs for one minute by default, asynchronous jobs get ten minutes, and 30 requests can run at once, while hosted-document output is capped at 100 MB. The cited page states no hard input or output size or page cap for general conversion.
Test mode watermarks its output, and the free allowance covers production documents.
Details, and where each comes from
Vendor statements, our own reading of their pages, and the things nobody has established yet, each answered separately. Where we have not confirmed something it says so rather than guessing, and a row nobody has established is greyed out.
- Versions covered
- API
- Website
- docraptor.com
- Requires an account
- Yes
- Free tier
- Yes
- Watermark on the free tier
- No
- Maximum file size
- Not verified
- Batch processing
- Yes
- Data residency
- United States
- Open source
- No
- Self-hostable
- No
- Licence
- Proprietary
- Redaction
- No redaction feature
- Programmatic access
- HTTP API
- Last availability check
- Responded in 322 ms 21 October 2026
Checked automatically by our own runner, not reported by the vendor. 100% of our last 30 checks got a response.
What the redaction verdict rests on
From the vendor's own documentation, read 22 September 2026. Not tested by us.
What that does not establish
The vendor’s own site was read on 22 September 2026 and contains no mention of redaction, sanitisation, blackout or whiteout. Absence from a vendor’s own material is not proof that a feature does not exist - it may be undocumented, or on a page the reading did not reach - but for a NEGATIVE claim it is the strongest evidence available, and it is weaker than a positive quote.
Recorded as such rather than presented as certainty.
What the vendor says
Claims are labelled rather than repeated as fact. Where we have checked something ourselves, it says so and shows when. Checked means we read the vendor's own page and it says what we recorded - not that we tested the behaviour, unless the note says we did.
-
“DocRaptor is the only HTML to PDF API that uses the Prince PDF generator, has a 99.99% uptime guarantee, and is both SOC2 and HIPAA compliant.”
Checked by us - the source says otherwise Read 21 September 2026
Refuted, and this is the first refutation in the campaign. The claim has three parts and the first is false.
DocRaptor's homepage states "DocRaptor is the only HTML to PDF API that uses the Prince PDF generator, has a 99.99% uptime guarantee, and is both SOC2 and HIPAA compliant." Under the heading "Prince as a Service", Prince's own publisher YesLogic names a second one: "The DocRaptor and EuroPDF services provide access to Prince through cloud-based APIs without needing to install Prince locally." EuroPDF is not an incidental mention: its homepage title is "EuroPDF - HTML to PDF API | Hosted in Europe, GDPR Compliant", and its own description reads "European REST API for HTML to PDF conversion.
PrinceXML powered, GDPR compliant, German data centers." That is a second Prince-powered HTML-to-PDF API, so "the only" is false, and the claim is exactly the kind of differentiator a buyer would choose a vendor for. The refutation does not come from a neighbouring page of DocRaptor's or from anyone's marketing: it comes from the upstream vendor that supplies the engine, which has no interest in promoting one of its two licensees over the other, and it is corroborated by the second service describing itself.
One honest limit on the finding: I have not established who operates EuroPDF, and it may be a regional partner of YesLogic rather than an independent competitor - that does not change the word "only", but a reader weighing the two should know it is unresolved. The other two components of the claim are stated on DocRaptor's page and are not contradicted: a 99.99% uptime guarantee is a contractual term rather than a measurement, and the SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance assertions name no audit report or certificate.
Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte
Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
- From
- the text a browser renders
- SHA-256
- 6a338db840ea38ef5ac09cfec6ed3b363b7a2944fbc491d35586bf4cbe35dcd1
How we checked
Two pages were read on 2026-09-21. The claim's own source, https://docraptor.com/, was rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs (visible text 3855 bytes) and carries the claim verbatim; sourceHash is the SHA-256 of that rendered homepage.
The refutation comes from a control rather than from the claim's source: Prince's own publisher, at https://www.princexml.com/purchase/, read as raw HTML (11834 bytes, SHA-256 3092515ff9fba3595cb817165568e6f926f0779091dd07e0f69ac7c86b0d4c58), and the competing service's own homepage at https://www.europdf.eu/, also read from the raw response (70856 bytes).
-
“For users of the DocRaptor product, when you send document data to DocRaptor, we retain a copy of your input and output documents only until you have downloaded the document and the time you specify for data retention has expired. DocRaptor does NOT retain your original input or the generated document past the data retention period unless you explicitly use DocRaptor's document debugging or document hosting services.”
Checked by us - the source says this Read 21 September 2026
Confirmed verbatim. The Data Storage section carries both sentences of the claim unchanged, including the exception clause about document debugging and document hosting.
Three details from the same section are worth recording. First, the retention period is set by the customer, not stated by the vendor: "DocRaptor lets you set how long we retain your data or any hosted documents", so the claim's promise is real but has no fixed number behind it and cannot be checked against a published figure.
Second, the section says the service runs on "third party vendors and hosting partners" and that for onward transfers from EU or Swiss residents under the Data Privacy Framework the company "is potentially liable" - relevant because the claim reads as a statement about DocRaptor's own storage. Third, it states that while a document is on the servers "both the input and output are protected by strong encryption", which is a security assertion this tier cannot test.
Recorded as the vendor's description; we have not called the API and no control was run.
Standing: Re-read and matched byte for byte
Check it yourself: the source, the SHA-256, and how we checked
- From
- the text a browser renders
- SHA-256
- ac6710f1af0556a9ac11ef857cd5f184a5881960243d08b73744c3e47134cc44
How we checked
The recorded source is a description rather than a URL, and the path it names is wrong: legal.docraptor.com/privacy returns 403 AccessDenied from the object store. The privacy policy is served from legal.docraptor.com/, which redirects to legal.html?g=1181, and that page was rendered in headless Chrome with scripts/render-page.mjs on 2026-09-21 (DOM 414643 bytes, visible text 11160 bytes).
The claim was checked against the Data Storage section of that text. sourceHash is the SHA-256 of the rendered text.
Each claim is quoted from the vendor's own pages. This section describes what we have and have not checked - it is not a judgement about anyone.
Sponsorship is distribution, not an endorsement or a promise of search rankings, AI citations, traffic, or sales. This listing is a free entry, compiled from published sources.